Every once in a while, the judges get it exactly right

March 13, 2010 at 8:58 pm (Awards, books)

This past Thursday, the National Book Critics Circle announced its winners for 2009.  Wolf Hall, Hilary Mantels’ magisterial work of historical fiction, received the fiction prize. The Age of Wonder, Richard Holmes’s astonishingly capacious history of science in the Romantic Age, won for general nonfiction.

Books were cited in four other categories. Click here for the complete list.

So gratifying, really, to have such an august body validating one’s own choices!


  1. Kimberly said,

    I’m interested to read “Wolf Hall.” Mantel’s “Beyond Black” looks good too.

  2. Meredith said,

    I’m curious–does your title for Saturday’s post refer to this particular award, or to awards in general? I followed your link and looked at the entire NBCC list going back to 1975 (did you scroll through too?) and admired the quality of winners in the fiction category. Too bad there can be only one winner–some years, two or even three of the finalists were off-the-chart.


    • Roberta Rood said,

      Meredith – Fair question. I was referring to book awards in general. I just followed your lead in looking at past winners and nominees listed on the NBCC site, and I have to agree with you about their high quality.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: