More on Reginald Hill, and the bookstore experience

February 3, 2012 at 4:43 pm (books, Mystery fiction)

I’m still melancholy about the loss of Reginald Hill.  The following tributes are testimony to the high esteem in which many readers and fellow writers held him:

No matter which genre he worked in, Mr. Hill was a master of form and style, writing with grace and wit and embellishing his cerebral puzzle mysteries with playful literary allusions and clever wordplay.

From Marilyn Stasio’s article in the New York Times. (Marilyn Stasio is the long time reviewer of crime fiction for  that newspaper.)

**********************

Martin Edwards wrote a lovely appreciation on his blog Do You Write Under Your Own Name. (Edwards epitomizes the generosity I’ve come to admire in the community of British crime fiction writers.)

**********************

On receiving the news, George Easter of Deadly Pleasures Mystery Magazine wrote this:

It’s a very, very sad day for me. I just received the news that Reginald Hill has passed away at the age of 75. He has been one of a handfull of my very most favorite authors since I first read RULING PASSION in the early 1980s. I considered Reginald Hill and Michael Connelly as the two greatest living mystery writers until today. The King is dead — Long live the King. In retrospect I am very pleased that DP readers voted Reginald a Barry Award last year for THE WOODCUTTER. A fitting send-off for an exceptional artist.

I was hoping that he would be very long-lived and productive. Now I’ll just have to satisfy myself with re-reading his most excellent body of work. I can only hope that there is a book in the pipeline. January 13, 2012.

*****************

 

   The fine folks at Felony and Mayhem Press have done a great job of bringing Hill’s earlier novels back into print. Maggie Topkis, the house’s founder and “editrix,” posted these gracious sentiments concerning the passing of this author.

******************

Yesterday, in desperate need of a real live bookstore experience, I visited our local Barnes & Noble. (We’ve been informed by a recent article in the Business section of the New York Times that Barnes and Noble is now the last bastion in which a nervous publishing industry has placed its hope and trust.) Despite the annoying presence of non book items – toys and such, and even boxes of Godiva Chocolates in anticipation of Valentine’s Day – I was able to recapture some of the old, perennial pleasure of such a sojourn. I was especially pleased to see several Felony & Mayhem titles stocked among the mysteries. I picked up Deadheads, pictured above, and Tiger in the Smoke by Margery Allingham.

1 Comment

  1. Lorraine S. said,

    I was saddened that our Borders closed months ago-but we still had B&N. They were also “re-organizing” their store. I now call it the TOY STORE.They moved the entire Fiction-Literature section to a back corner and at least 1/2 of the store is now “Educational” toys. They’re all over-priced toys to me. The CD section is basically now a DVD store.I won’t mention how much space the NOOK products take. I always supported indie bookstores and will continue to do so.

Leave a Reply

