The triumph of Amsterdam’s Rijksmuseum!

December 1, 2014 at 2:55 am (Art)

After a renovation that took an unprecedented (and apparently unanticipated) ten years to complete, the Rijksmuseum, one of the worlds greatest treasure houses of art, finally reopened in April of last year.  In this video, Queen Beatrix is seen taking part in the opening ceremony.  (This was her last official act before abdicating in favor of her son Willem-Alexander.)

And this flash mob is one of the most wonderful things I’ve ever seen. I’ve watched it over and over again since I first came upon it several days ago.

What a fabulous celebration of some of the world’s greatest art!

1 Comment

  1. Susan Flynn said,

    What a fabulous list of books you are recommending, Roberta! I have added 4 to my TBR list: Stoner, the Eric Jager books (they look fascinating), the Ruth Rendells (I need to catch up) and I’d never heard of the Robin Blake book and it looks so good. So thank you very much! I hope next year brings you as many good books to recommend. Oh, and that art book looks gorgeous.
    Susan – You Can Never Have Too Many Books

Leave a Reply

