Farewell to Henning Mankell, crime fiction sage of the north country

October 6, 2015 at 11:31 am (books, Mystery fiction, Remembrance)

Onestepbehind hmankell4

Yesterday, I was saddened by news of the passing of Henning Mankell. I’ve enjoyed his crime fiction a great deal. The first Kurt Wallander novel I read was One Step Behind; from that moment, I knew I’d be reading more. (Among other things, Wallander was struggling with Type Two Diabetes, just as I was. So I guess that helped me to bond with this character.) Other Kurt Wallander novels I’ve read and greatly liked by Mankell are The Dogs of Riga and Firewall. In 2009 (2011 in this country), Mankell closed this series out with The Troubled Man, a real tour de force, in my opinion.

book-harvill-1843431122-large Dogs-of-Riga

9781400095810_custom-7b08730c54ae6348bc9143573d2198629cab8cab-s200-c85  I also read Before the Frost, in which Wallander’s daughter Linda takes center stage. Mankell had intended to continue with this series, but a tragedy intervened that it made it impossible for him to write any more novels featuring Linda Wallander. Click here to read more about what happened.

Stieg Larsson, author of the Dragon Tattoo novels featuring the memorable Lisbeth Salander, is often given credit for initiating a second Golden Age in Swedish crime fiction. (The first  began with the great creative team of Maj Sjowall and Per Wahloo, whose Martin Beck series dates from 1965 to 1975.) There’s no getting around the sensation caused by Larsson‘s singular and highly original creation, but Henning Mankell also deserves credit for once again focusing the spotlight on the masterful mysteries issuing from his native land.

I regret that there will be no further insightful, ruminative prose issuing from his pen.

Henning Mankell: February 3, 1948 - October 5, 2015)

Henning Mankell: February 3, 1948 – October 5, 2015

Leave a Reply

