Two happenings that make me (cautiously) hopeful

October 12, 2015 at 12:57 pm (Family, Judaism, Music)

Lately, there’s been so much in the news that’s appalling and heartbreaking; I wanted to offer two items as harbingers, however small, of hope.

First: the Rajko Orchestra performing Bela Bartok’s Romanian Dances. The YouTube post describes the venue as a synagogue in Budapest; the year is given as 2004.

*******************************

Second: a while back, in Chicago, my son Ben and I were watching my granddaughter Etta at soccer practice:

I thin that's Etta with the braids. You'll understand that the scene was quite kinetic, so I can't be sure.

I think that’s Etta, foreground left, with the braids. You’ll understand that the scene was quite kinetic, so I can’t be sure.

Meanwhile, Ben had struck up a conversation with another Dad. When he realized he hadn’t introduced himself, he did so, with an extended hand:

Hi, I’m Ben.

The other extended his hand also, smiled, and responded:

Hi, I’m Mohamed.

I remember thinking immediately, This is one of the (many) reasons that I, granddaughter of immigrants. love this country.

2 Comments

  1. Pam said,

    Thank you for sharing this! I agree that we need all the signs of hope we can find. Common ground can be found in many places, including the soccer field and in a love and appreciation for books.

    • Roberta Rood said,

      Thanks for this, Pam. I couldn’t agree more!

Leave a Reply

