Aftermath of Snowzilla – random thoughts and observations

January 31, 2016 at 2:49 pm (books, Local interest (Baltimore-Washington), True crime)

A beautiful sight greeted me Wednesday morning: two rolled-up packages of newspaper lay in the (barely navigable) driveway. When I brought them in, I discovered that I had received not only that day’s paper, but all those that I’d missed due to the snow storm. Five issues awaited my joyful perusal!

Thank you so much, Washington Post.

IMG_1791-X2

Meanwhile, I’ve made progress on my upcoming presentations. This has consisted mainly of coming up with a script for Book Bash and gathering books for the presentation (entitled “Time for Crime: True and Imagined”), and selecting the stories I want to emphasize for my July discussion of Capital Crimes: London Stories.

I’ve already mentioned the crowd that surged through the Central Branch right before the blizzard. I was gratified that so many people were searching for books as well as DVDs. How nice, thought I, they’ll be taking home some gentle and soothing tomes, like Alexander McCall Smith’s No.1 Ladies Detective series or Jan Karon’s Mitford novels – and cookbooks, too, judging by the stripped shelves of local supermarkets – to help them get through the coming storm. This assumption is probably accurate, generally speaking. But on Wednesday, when I began searching in earnest for books I need for Book Bash, there were no available copies at any of the six library branches of the following:

613n-qSYdrL._SX342_BO1,204,203,200_ JamesEllroy_TheBlackDahlia

41f9c980eb43c7ef_stranger Psycho-by-Robert-Bloch-6

All needed to be reserved and are only now coming in. Clearly, escapism means different things to different people.

But Psycho…really?
**************************************

And finally, something from the Department of Transitory Phenomena:

I am sitting at my computer desk yesterday morning at about a quarter to nine, when I become aware of the sunlight entering through the window on my left and falling across the desk’s cluttered surface and the adjoining bookcase.

IMG_1795-X2

Problem: the room is on the west side of the house. Remember: it is 8:45 AM.

I get up and go to the window, where I observe the sun glinting madly of  the window of the house opposite. It is acting as a powerful reflector – but only for a short time.

IMG_1796-X2

The strange thing is, this room – formerly my son’s bedroom, as you might have guessed from the wall art – has been my de facto “office” for some ten years now, and I don’t recall ever noting this phenomenon.

 

 

 

 

2 Comments

  1. Carol said,

    I did think “Aerosmith fan” gave a whole new perspective on you, Roberta! :0)

    • Roberta Rood said,

      Yes, well, I have Ben’s permission to strip all that stuff off the walls, but I haven’t ever gotten around to it – sigh… If only the posters were of groups I actually liked, at least at one time – like Journey, the Eagles and especially Crosby, Stills & Nash!

Leave a Reply

