Beowulf, again (and always!)

November 22, 2007 at 10:17 pm (Poetry)

beowulf-tobin-2-900.jpg There’s an excellent article in today’s Washington Post about Beowulf, the poem and the movie. Blake Gopnik is a writer whose coverage of the arts is unfailingly intelligent and perceptive. I am full of admiration for the fact that he studied this amazing masterpiece in the original Anglo-Saxon!

Several months ago, I read the Seamus Heaney translation and was struck by the utter strangeness of the world which I had unwittingly entered. Then I listened to the recorded version on the Naxos label of the Benedict Flynn translation, read by Crawford Logan. audio-beowulf.jpg Ancient sagas like Beowulf were recited before they were written down, and listening to the poem is a different experience from reading it. I recommend highly the Naxos issue. I also want to take this opportunity once again to direct people to Benjamin Slade’s site, Beowulf in Steorarume (Beowulf in Cyberspace).

I have not seen the movie yet, but I’ll report back when I have…

1 Comment

  1. BooksPlease said,

    The film is on near us – planning on going soon.

Leave a comment