Of books and reading

September 27, 2013 at 10:02 pm (Awards, books, Library)

First, award nominations.

The National Book Awards long list has been posted, as well as the Man Booker Prize long and short lists.

Note that one book appears on both: The Lowland by Jhumpa Lahiri. I’ve read all three of her other books – Interpreter of Maladies (winner of the year 2000 Pulitzer Prize), The Namesake, and Unaccustomed Earth – and I’m greatly looking forward to reading this one.

The (extremely prestigious) Man Booker Prize has been in the news recently, due to the announcement of a broadening of the eligibility requirements. All fiction written in English will now enter the competition. We all know what that means. Watch out: the Americans are coming!

Inevitably, not everyone is pleased.
******************
Eve if you’ve already read my recent post on public libraries, it’s worth taking a second look. Two thoughtful and engaging comments have recently been appended.
******************
Thomas’s comment reminded me that I haven’t visited his site in a while. So I went there – and what treasures! Lists and more lists…

3 Comments

  1. Thomas at My Porch said,

    I don’t think I have ever looked at an NBA long list before. I am trying to be a bit more current with my book choices but the lure of the past is so strong. Incidentally, Simon Savidge and I just discussed the changes to the Man Booker on our podcast the readers. We both fall into the not pleased category but perhaps not as completely as the article in the Guardian you link to. It you would like to hear us natter on about it, you can follow the link. http://bookbasedbanter.co.uk/thereaders/2013/09/24/ep-83-man-oh-man-booker-lengthy-illuminations-by-the-luminaries/

    • Roberta Rood said,

      Thomas, Thanks so much for this. I’m about to leave for the airport – going to meet my new grandson – but I very much look forward to the podcast.

      For the record, I’m not pleased about the change in the Man Booker eligibility requirements.

  2. Angie Boyter said,

    Well, the L A Times review of The Lowlands certainly did not agree with the others:
    http://www.latimes.com/books/jacketcopy/la-ca-jc-jhumpa-lahiri-20130929,0,1874156.story?track=lat-email-bookshelf

Leave a Reply

